Why is Half Life 1 Source Code failing to compile!?

Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

Madbones
Veteran
Veteran

User avatar

Joined: 7 Mar 2010
Age: 27
Gender: Male
Posts: 777
Location: In the zone

01 Jan 2012, 8:00 pm

Hey!
Im trying to make a Half Life 1 mod.
I have the Half Life 1 Visual Studio 2008 project and I have built both the cl_dll and hl.
But when I go to debug, I get this error: Debugging information for 'hl.exe' cannot be found or does not match. Cannot find or open the PDB file. It then gives me an option to continue anyway, so I do.
Then Half Life 1 fails to launch and gives me this error message: Could not find filesystem dll to load.


I have failed before with Half Life 2 (You know when you fix one thing, and 20032343501859432958029384 other problems show up?) , I should have saw it coming.
Oh well.
Can any one here help me out?
Im using Visual Studio 2010 by the way (I have converted the project to a 2010, it did it without any errors)
Here are the logs:
'hl.exe': Loaded '\half-life\hl.exe', Cannot find or open the PDB file
'hl.exe': Loaded 'C:\Windows\System32\ntdll.dll', Cannot find or open the PDB file
'hl.exe': Loaded 'C:\Windows\System32\kernel32.dll', Cannot find or open the PDB file
'hl.exe': Loaded 'C:\Windows\System32\KernelBase.dll', Cannot find or open the PDB file
'hl.exe': Loaded 'C:\Windows\System32\wsock32.dll', Cannot find or open the PDB file
'hl.exe': Loaded 'C:\Windows\System32\ws2_32.dll', Cannot find or open the PDB file
'hl.exe': Loaded 'C:\Windows\System32\msvcrt.dll', Cannot find or open the PDB file
'hl.exe': Loaded 'C:\Windows\System32\rpcrt4.dll', Cannot find or open the PDB file
'hl.exe': Loaded 'C:\Windows\System32\nsi.dll', Cannot find or open the PDB file
'hl.exe': Loaded 'C:\Windows\System32\user32.dll', Cannot find or open the PDB file
'hl.exe': Loaded 'C:\Windows\System32\gdi32.dll', Cannot find or open the PDB file
'hl.exe': Loaded 'C:\Windows\System32\lpk.dll', Cannot find or open the PDB file
'hl.exe': Loaded 'C:\Windows\System32\usp10.dll', Cannot find or open the PDB file
'hl.exe': Loaded 'C:\Windows\System32\advapi32.dll', Cannot find or open the PDB file
'hl.exe': Loaded 'C:\Windows\System32\sechost.dll', Cannot find or open the PDB file
'hl.exe': Loaded 'C:\Windows\System32\apphelp.dll', Cannot find or open the PDB file
'hl.exe': Loaded 'C:\Windows\AppPatch\AcLayers.dll', Cannot find or open the PDB file
'hl.exe': Loaded 'C:\Windows\System32\sspicli.dll', Cannot find or open the PDB file
'hl.exe': Loaded 'C:\Windows\System32\shell32.dll', Cannot find or open the PDB file
'hl.exe': Loaded 'C:\Windows\System32\shlwapi.dll', Cannot find or open the PDB file
'hl.exe': Loaded 'C:\Windows\System32\ole32.dll', Cannot find or open the PDB file
'hl.exe': Loaded 'C:\Windows\System32\oleaut32.dll', Cannot find or open the PDB file
'hl.exe': Loaded 'C:\Windows\System32\userenv.dll', Cannot find or open the PDB file
'hl.exe': Loaded 'C:\Windows\System32\profapi.dll', Cannot find or open the PDB file
'hl.exe': Loaded 'C:\Windows\System32\winspool.drv', Cannot find or open the PDB file
'hl.exe': Loaded 'C:\Windows\System32\mpr.dll', Cannot find or open the PDB file
'hl.exe': Loaded 'C:\Windows\System32\imm32.dll', Cannot find or open the PDB file
'hl.exe': Loaded 'C:\Windows\System32\msctf.dll', Cannot find or open the PDB file
'hl.exe': Loaded 'C:\Windows\System32\uxtheme.dll', Cannot find or open the PDB file
'hl.exe': Loaded 'C:\Windows\System32\dwmapi.dll', Cannot find or open the PDB file
'hl.exe': Loaded 'C:\Windows\System32\cryptbase.dll', Cannot find or open the PDB file
The program '[6592] hl.exe: Native' has exited with code 0 (0x0).


_________________
?Sometimes when you innovate, you make mistakes. It is best to admit them quickly, and get on with improving your other innovations.? -Steve Jobs.


Burzum
Veteran
Veteran

User avatar

Joined: 26 Apr 2011
Age: 33
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,205

02 Jan 2012, 7:21 am

Do you have Generate Debug Info set to No? The option is in Project -> Properties -> Configuration Properties -> Linker -> Debugging



Madbones
Veteran
Veteran

User avatar

Joined: 7 Mar 2010
Age: 27
Gender: Male
Posts: 777
Location: In the zone

02 Jan 2012, 7:26 am

Burzum wrote:
Do you have Generate Debug Info set to No? The option is in Project -> Properties -> Configuration Properties -> Linker -> Debugging

Thanks for replying!!
Its on Yes(THEN SOMETHING ELSE HERE IN CAPS)

EDIT:
It is set to:
YES(/DEBUG)


_________________
?Sometimes when you innovate, you make mistakes. It is best to admit them quickly, and get on with improving your other innovations.? -Steve Jobs.


mglosenger
Velociraptor
Velociraptor

User avatar

Joined: 19 Aug 2011
Age: 151
Gender: Male
Posts: 445

06 Jan 2012, 1:24 am

It could be your working directory settings. It may be looking for the PDB wherever the EXEs were built instead of somewhere else.

You might as try doing a clean and rebuilding.. if existing PDB files are there, but in the wrong format, MSVC isn't very good at telling you so.

Have you checked if there are any PDB files being generated anywhere? There could be some weird issue there too