Page 1 of 2 [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

twinklelight
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

13 Oct 2024, 2:06 pm

Hi everyone,

My name is Berkay, and I’m a psychology student. Recently, I’ve been exploring the possibility that I might be on the autism spectrum. It’s something that has been on my mind after watching a clinical interview video for my homework assignment, which focused on autism. As I watched it, I noticed that the symptoms described were surprisingly accurate. That led me to dig deeper into research, and the more I looked, the more patterns I found that matched my own experiences. I also had an online autism spectrum quotient test that indicated significant autistic traits as 39 points out of a possible 50.

To give you a bit more context, I experienced delayed speech as a child—starting to talk at around 3 years old, but people couldn’t really understand me until I was 5. During preschool, I had communication difficulties and would often get frustrated, leading to incidents like hitting other kids. I also had strange fears, such as being terrified of veiled women, drawing them as witches and believing they would one day kidnap me. I even remember trying to choke myself a few times as a child because of the certainty of being kidnapped one day, although I never quite understood why I felt that way.