University of Pennsylvania 25%  25%  [ 5 ]
Rochester Institute of Technology 40%  40%  [ 8 ]
University of Miami 35%  35%  [ 7 ]
Total votes : 20

Orwell
Veteran
Veteran

02 Apr 2008, 3:56 pm

Hey, trying to make my final college decision and I thought I'd put up this little poll. I'm majoring in biology with an eye toward infectious disease research. I've narrowed my options down to three schools. Pros/cons of each:

Penn- Pros: It's an Ivy, so there's the prestige. They said I was in the top 15% of accepted students, and invited me to join some kind of honors program- I will either get a double major (biology and biochemistry) OR earn both a bachelor's and a master's degree in just 4 years, in addition to a guarantee of 2 summers of paid research, totaling over $10,000. They have a hall devoted to infectious disease in one of their housing areas, which is pretty cool.

Cons- It's in a bad part of town, I would have to dodge traffic on my way to class (busy Philadelphia streets run rights through the middle of campus), I don't know if their biology program is very good, and I don't know yet if financial aid will be very good there. Dining hall's not too great, and their dorm rooms aren't very appealing. Socially, I would not fit in very well.

RIT- Pros: I really like their biology professors, I've been offered a paid research job for this summer, during which they would also let me take classes for free, they do a great job of helping students apply for prestigious scholarships (last year, 3 out of their 4 nominees won a Goldwater Fellowship, which is a pretty big deal). They are well regarded, and their reputation is getting better all the time. I would get research experience, and since I would be near the top of my class I would have access to the best opportunities. I've got AP credits, so I wouldn't have to take any courses in the humanities, but I would be required to complete a minor. I've been told that there are lots of Aspies at RIT.