So, I don't collect toy dinosaurs or stamps...

Page 1 of 3 [ 37 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

whirlingmind
Veteran
Veteran

07 Aug 2012, 1:18 pm

To DXd females: just wondering how your collecting habits or special interest areas/obsessions differ from the male stereotypes that are perpetuated in the assessment process. What are you known to monologue about? Instead of protons, do you waffle on about hairsprays or something? Do you collect pink clothes or eyelash curlers for example or anything gender specific?

Thanks.

DX AS & both daughters on the autistic spectrum

jojobean
Veteran
Veteran

Location: In Georgia sipping a virgin pina' colada while the rest of the world is drunk

07 Aug 2012, 2:43 pm

art supplies, hand spun-hand dyed yarn is my collecting vices. I am a fiber artist and I can monologe about the process of making yarn until your ears bleed.

I also identify colors by their paint name and talk about them at length which for some reason drives men crazy...in a bad way. Their head spins around they spew pea soup.

I am also a poet and collect poetry books and can read them till wee in the morning.

Jojo

Mindsigh
Veteran
Veteran

07 Aug 2012, 3:25 pm

I have quite a yarn stash too! I was getting into fiber arts but the whole husband/kids thing kinda took it away from me. I usually used Kool-Aid, since it's readily available, and had bought a bunch of undyed silk noil and some mohair on cones. I can ramble on and on about knitting and making jewelry and costume history (although I can't sew worth a crap :( ).

IdahoRose
Veteran
Veteran

07 Aug 2012, 5:10 pm

All of my special interests through the years can basically be summed up as obsessing over fictional characters. I'm not much of a reader or gamer, so my character obsessions come from TV and movies. I like to collect merchandise based on the TV shows and movies that my favorite characters come from.

Here is a rundown of my TV/movie obsessions throughout the years: