I'm no longer proud to have Asperger Syndrome.

Page 1 of 3 [ 33 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

rick42
Toucan
Toucan

09 Mar 2020, 9:20 pm

I going honest to with everyone,I'm no longer proud to have Asperger Syndrome.There was a time,even as soon as a couple months ago,I used to feel proud to be on the Autism Spectrum,but now thinking about it,I don't have really any strengths that comes with Asperger Syndrome,but have many negatives. Aspergers has denied me of friendships over the years.Women are not even willing to talk with me,let alone be friends with me,let alone date me,which is why I'm probably going to be single forever. I suffer from anxiety. I only have average intelligence. Over the last couple of years,I been dealing with on and off depression. No one really likes me except for my parents. I even feel disliked within the Asperger/Autistic community. I feel bit upset right now.Does anyone else feel the same way?

Borromeo
Veteran
Veteran

09 Mar 2020, 10:02 pm

Being proud of something that is a part of us is tricky. I might as well be proud of my five o'clock shadow. Nope.

If you would rejoice in something about yourself, rejoice in doing good things. It will catch on. As far as being disliked here, I haven't seen that. But I think you're cool.

Anyway, depression is a beast but it is defeatable. At least your parents have your back. Sometimes I have a hard time telling what my family thinks; it's tough like that...good intentions can be tricky to read sometimes.

I do believe you have some strength of some sort; you just won't find it somewhere. I can take an Edison phonograph motor apart & rebuild it in anywhere from 20 minutes to 2 hours...this is if it has sat for 110 years without an oil change. That's not a strength you will find listed anywhere but it helps me fix my phonographs & enjoy some old music. You probably are good at something, I am sure of it.

rick42
Toucan
Toucan

09 Mar 2020, 11:42 pm

Borromeo wrote: