Page 1 of 2 [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

FlowerPower
Butterfly
Butterfly

21 Feb 2012, 2:57 pm

I do not have Aspergers but suspect my husband does. I'm pushing 60 and he's 65. He would never go to a doctor to find out, not even to rule it out. He doesn't want to hear about it. This leaves me stuck with figuring it out, because life has gotten extremely stressful if I do nothing.

A basic summary: Things have gone oddly wrong in the marriage of 30 years, a gradually downhill slide. I had no idea why. The first 5 years were great. The next 5 a little less, but still good. By ten years he had relocated us every 2 or 3 years, job hopped, home hopped, for the children it meant school hopping.

I'm no doctor, had no idea why. Often he'd yell over nothing, or eventually to become aloof about where he lived. At first I thought he was just being mean and selfish.

Now I feel bad about that, but this all took time to reveal itself, since he seldom goes to a doctor for much of anything. I could not phone our local physician and ask him, because he did not have a steady physician. Around 20 years of marriage I took online tests, coupled with life experiences, figured out he has ADHD.

It made a world of difference to have some idea what was causing him to act out. From there, while he would never take allopathic medication, he has been willing to take natural herbs like green tea [stim] etc.

For a time things seemed to calm down. But recently he had an outburst that went on for a good 45 minutes or more. Even with green tea and tyrosine for ADHD, it only worked a little. Then something happened. A close relative's child was diagnosed with Aspergers, very light case. Learning there's a genetic link, I began wondering if my husband has it. Then started to read the symptoms. Many sound exactly like him!