Yes - Due to a combination of the above. 18%  18%  [ 5 ]
No - Autism is not a difference that costs society money. 64%  64%  [ 18 ]
Total votes : 28

ci
Veteran
Veteran

02 Jan 2011, 10:51 pm

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sse0CXDuv64[/youtube]

The politics of autism are riddled with adversity, special interest and within context to mainstream politics subject to interpretation(s). Autism as a concept and not a person to me is a puzzle. Despite being diagnosed with autism and reading some generalized material about what it is I cannot really say ultimately what it is. I am not a scientist but am avidly interested in social psychology and the construct of human thoughts. It was made aware to me the idea of autism being a national security concern due to costations.

I cannot ultimately determine when their is high functioning autism especially who has autism and not ultimately. Especially when people say they have autism, had autism or are autism and goto college and are able to carry on a career. What about those who cannot and what % of people diagnosed with autism spectrum continue on from childhood and become self-sufficient.

In autism politics two issues go together and can be confused with one another quite easily. The autism abortion issue and the portrayal of autism for reasons of self-esteem. Should it be for the reason solely of quality of life it is my belief those able to comprehend, speak for themselves and function in the real-world to the point of self-sufficiency would not complain so much about autism and positivity. However these two issues of abortion and self-worth cannot be easily separated and special interest in mainstream politics has already used the issue to advocate against quality of life funding.