Page 1 of 3 [ 41 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

autisic2artistic
Hummingbird
Hummingbird

24 Jul 2011, 12:12 pm

I was wondering looking on here and cant seem to find any visual artists. I see musicians and writers. I mostly do photography but dable in drawing and painting some times.

haruka
Blue Jay
Blue Jay

24 Jul 2011, 1:09 pm

I am a self-proclaimed artist, as in I think I am an artist and artistic.

I used to be very into photography, but have let that dwindle as I need a new muse, a new location in life, a vacation or something.

I enjoy drawing but feel I am not good enough. I try to draw as much as I can as that is how I will become better. One day I would like to create a mini-graphic novel.

I have painted and have an easel but have since felt I need to learn to draw better before I can paint.

Then again, I am also a writer (my main focus) and play guitar and piano (my secondary focus which helps me release emotion).

Jack of all trades, master of none?

YourMother
Veteran
Veteran

24 Jul 2011, 1:29 pm

haruka wrote:
I am a self-proclaimed artist

That is the only kind of artist.

I am an Artist.

Avengilante
Velociraptor
Velociraptor

24 Jul 2011, 2:14 pm

YourMother wrote:
haruka wrote:

Well, I would differ with that statement, IMO there are many 'kinds' of artists. A performance artist is quite different than a graphic artist which is different than a creative writer who paints with words, though I'm guessing its the various graphic genres that are being referenced in the OPs question. Some artists work exclusively in one medium, others dabble in several. Still others make a distinction between artists who work purely for self expression and those who do it for money and there are snobs on both sides of that fence who look down on those who stand on the other.

At the end of the day, however, if no one recognizes your acts of creation as art, then self-proclaiming is an empty gesture.