Page 1 of 3 [ 40 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

itw
Blue Jay
Blue Jay

23 Nov 2010, 2:25 pm

I self diagnosed when I was 44 and diagnosed formally at 48. I worked as a Clinical Chemist for many years (mostly long hours on the weekends when no one was there, which I loved). I performed most of the technical work while my supervisor handled the people part of it. That worked well until she retired and I was expected to do all of it. I had to step down because of stress after 2 weeks and it was downhill from there until I quit 6 months later. I haven't worked since. I have been married for 21 years (many ups and downs with one separation) to a very extroverted NT and have 2 NT kid's that are also very outgoing. They all are involved in everything. This has showed me that being a NT extrovert makes life a hell of a lot easier (I am so glad for my kids). How my husband and I got together initially is that he thought I was extremely attractive and I was attracted to his social ease (I could use his as a shield in social situations). We met in graduate school.

I have always experienced anxiety and depression but it seems to get worse with age. My husband is very supportive (thankfully) but I try not to burden him too much. I have no real friends, just acquaintances. I wish this were different. I am immersed in a NT world. Some parents use me to help deal with their Aspie children, which I am glad to be of help. But this is all getting old. I'm tired. I cry a lot. I am on 2 antidepressants and 1 antiseizure drug all of which quit working after a while. I don't want to give up on trying different medications but my psychiatrist wants me to: he says that there's a point when I should just accept it especially since there is no cure for Aspergers. As far as giving up on life, I haven't. But I look to my future and ask "is this all there is? Am I going to continually get worse?

I went from having many goals and successes to wondering if I have anything to look forward to?