Does no one want to make friends anymore?

Page 1 of 2 [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Marknis
Veteran
Veteran

27 Mar 2018, 3:48 pm

It feels like most people around me already have a steady circle of friends and aren't interested in adding to them. This worries me because I didn't have many friends in my developmental years and I graduated without any lasting connections. I couldn't make new friends in college and my attempts for the last few years have been unproductive. Do people just don't want to make new friends anymore?

kraftiekortie
Veteran
Veteran

28 Mar 2018, 8:47 am

I graduated without any lasting connections, too.

I believe most people make friends with people who satisfy one need or another.

Playing lotteries seems to bring people together. Or a desire for a person to help someone move. Or common interests in general.

Going to Austin would assist you in the “common interest” department.

How are the people at the library?

Fireblossom
Veteran
Veteran

28 Mar 2018, 8:48 am

I think that your problem here is that you assume the people around you are or at some point have been trying to make friends like you do, while in reality most people never really think about making friends, it just happens to them naturally, doesn't it? That's why it might seem to you that while you're actively (I assume) trying to make friends, others aren't trying at all and so you think that they aren't interested. However, it might be that they're trying to make friends with you and with other people, but they do it in subtle, natural ways that you don't even notice.