Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

Brianruns10
Veteran
Veteran

22 Oct 2009, 5:30 pm

It was the best job in the world. It was perfect for me. I was a filmmaker for a company that made history films. I was a shooter, editor, and did a ton of great research. Then today, when I was supposed to have a script meeting with my producer, I instead find myself with him and the co-owner of the company. He said, "It's just not working." The reasons were many: Financial (they've had some legal issues with a former partner). They lost a valuable worker to retirement, and didn't feel I was ready to fill his place, so they needed to hire somebody else. That I wasn't as skilled doing commerical (i.e. paying work). That I hadn't gelled with the rest of the staff. On the last point, I'm sure they're right, knowing the way I am. I really enjoyed working with them, but I realize that I am not the most worthwhile person to hang with. People can do much better than me.

I've got nothing now. No job. No girlfriend. There's plenty of better, more qualified people out there with my skill set. I feel like I've worked hard my whole life, and for four months I had the dream, and now I've lost it. You don't get many opportunities like that. I feel like my life is over. I don't know what to do. Don't know how to tell my family or my friends. Don't know how to get past the thought that I'm a loser who'll never have a good woman, or friends who want him around, or a job that inolves anything other than working in some back room away from all contact.

I hope and pray that all I've had to work through and endure was for a reason, but I just don't know. I'm a loser whose spent so many years and so much money making films that no one cares about, no one wants to see, that aren't any good. I'm a hack. I even said out loud that I would sell my soul to the devil to make just one film that people would treasure and love. My souls isn't even worth it to him.