Page 1 of 3 [ 35 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Mutanatia
Velociraptor
Velociraptor

14 Dec 2009, 7:45 pm

I recently went to an xmas party where they were serving Indian food. THe room was decently loud (thankfully no loud noises :D), and I was able to interact with people. It was at the Cody Center, where people have an understanding for people with AS/ASD anyways. I am an intern there, and as such was able to participate. Everything went well, the food was great, and I was actually able to hold decent conversations with them, and even if I wasn't, I was still able to listen, which is what I usually do.

I drank lots of high-caffeine soda. Yes at the end of the party, all I could do was go back to my room and sleep for like 2 hours. I was tired! Does this happen to any/all of you? This also happens after I go on a job interview as well.

kingtut3
Deinonychus
Deinonychus

14 Dec 2009, 7:56 pm

My social impairment is mild. It depends on the situation.

ssenkrad
Pileated woodpecker
Pileated woodpecker

14 Dec 2009, 8:03 pm

No, actually. Unlike most people with AS, socializing actually energizes me. It's difficult, but I feel caffeinated afterwards.

Hannabanana
Hummingbird
Hummingbird

14 Dec 2009, 8:19 pm

I definitely get tired after talking for a while. I'm usually a person who doesn't talk much. I remember going to see a counselor a few months ago. She just pretty much sat there while I told her pretty much my life story. Man, that was exhausting! After about 5 or 10 minutes of talking, I was so tired, I could barely talk anymore. It was actually an effort for me to talk that long nonstop. So you're not alone!

Tim_Tex
Veteran
Veteran

14 Dec 2009, 8:22 pm

For me, it depends on the situation.

Now proficient in ChatGPT!

leighsa
Hummingbird
Hummingbird

14 Dec 2009, 8:26 pm

Yes. I like social situations but find them difficult so all that extra effort wears me out.

Meadow
Veteran
Veteran

14 Dec 2009, 8:26 pm