Do you believe in learning on your own?

Page 1 of 2 [ 29 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

zeldapsychology
Veteran
Veteran

25 Jan 2010, 10:16 pm

My family tosses the idea around of buy books and learn on my own and then take the TEST (I guess to become whatever) IMO it's NOT that easy! You NEED a teacher to show you and teach you stuff and surely there's not an end all be all TEST to become a doctor or lawyer or my field of interest Psychology (not to mention learning how to do research and such and what type of Psychologist I want to become I still haven't figured that part out I liked doing the research in College when I look back at it that was something I enjoyed.

robinhood
Toucan
Toucan

26 Jan 2010, 4:57 am

I'm studying at the Open University in the UK, which is a government-run home learning programme... like a correspondence degree course, but with occasional tutorials, and internet interaction. They are good at supporting people with AS, and I've found it really works for me.... no need to socialize, no need to afford all the living expenses of being at university. I like it personally, but I think it's something I'm ready to do now, whereas I didn't really know what I wanted to pursue in my 20s. I'm studying psychology also, by the way.

arielhawksquill
Veteran
Veteran

26 Jan 2010, 5:24 am

I have to admit, I question your interest in your subject if you aren't curious enough to pursue reading about it on your own. It sounds like what you were really interested in was your college teacher, not psychology as a subject. Having ideas for experiments is what you talk about a lot, but you never seem to do even rudimentary research (like Googling) to find out if that research has already been done and what the results were.