Page 1 of 2 [ 24 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Frosty
Snowy Owl
Snowy Owl

13 Feb 2010, 7:22 pm

I tend to overtip now.

I used to under tip.

I worked as a bartender for 3 months and was amazed who tipped and who did not.

How do you all feel about it?

Thanks in advance for your replies or just viewing this thread.

Have a nice day!! !

Frosty

Aimless
Veteran
Veteran

13 Feb 2010, 9:40 pm

I worked for tips for years as a bartender. The best tippers I find were people who also worked for tips, not necessarily because they had a lot of money at their disposal, but because they understood. I've got a problem with the whole system. A tip is supposed to be a little extra for good service but the minimum wage for tipped workers in VA at least was $2.13 when I was working. Restaurant work is very hard and stressful and I've seen waitresses work their asses off for a large table and then get stiffed. Can you imagine working for a little over $2.00 an hour and then having to hope that some one will throw you a little extra change so you can pay your rent and buy food? It sucks. Restaurant owners need to pay their workers a living wage.

Philologos
Veteran
Veteran

15 Feb 2010, 1:26 am

I hate tipping - I will not list all the reasons it's is morally wrong and a nightmare for tipperand tipped. My wife I think disapproves, BUT she was a tipped person and is strongly in favor of tipping AND she can handle the calculations faster. Since the "official" tip moved over 10% - I COULD calculate that speedily and officially - i turned the tipping over to her.

Frosty
Snowy Owl
Snowy Owl

15 Feb 2010, 3:22 am

Yeah I just quit a bartending night time gig and that is where I saw the "light" of tipping better.

But it still astounds me yes - how some moderate of borderline poor customer will tip better on average than some.

Then the demanding squirts who never tip at all get on my nerves.

musicboxforever
Veteran
Veteran

19 Feb 2010, 6:06 am