Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

Lessian
Raven
Raven

12 Aug 2010, 4:48 am

Am faced with a situation that needs the input of others.
I am a full time student who has not had a job in a few years. my working history is a nearly constant stream of failure as a result of stress and depression. most of you will probably be able to identify.
I chose biology because its the only field I could find that had the prospects of being a good qualification that I could actually tolerate doing. however lately things have been coming up that strongly indicate that there will be little or no work available for me when I am finished, and now depression is affecting my studies as well. basically there is a strong chance of me dropping out at some point.
this leaves me with the necessity of finding a job. with no qualifications, no skills or experience to speak of, this will be a difficult task. I find myself a bit terrified of the whole work thing and unable to handle even just the looking through job ads. The only help the govt can/will give me is to pass me onto a job search agency.
Was just wondering if there are any useful suggestions out there?

cant endure then you can't inhale

arielhawksquill
Veteran
Veteran

12 Aug 2010, 6:50 am

It's easier to get a job with a bachelor's degree in ANYTHING, even if it's not the same field as your major. You should finish your biology degree and not worry about the state of the job market for biologists, because a BA will make you eligible for many more jobs and will compensate somewhat for your lack of skills and work experience.

Lessian
Raven
Raven

12 Aug 2010, 9:54 am