Confusing discussion with my parents

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

catherineconns
Blue Jay
Blue Jay

08 Nov 2010, 12:43 am

My parents and I are currently having a disagreement. I am a 20-year-old college student who pays for her own apartment but stops home on the weekends. I think that I should be allowed the freedom to stay overnight at my boyfriend's house if I desire to do so. My parents, on the other hand, feel that this is improper. When I asked them why I have to govern my actions by their sense of propriety, they replied that I should make my decisions based on what would or wouldn't be offensive to them, or hurt their feelings, or bother them. And they said that this is because there is an obligation that I have to my parents, and if I don't feel that sense of obligation towards them, that they shouldn't be beholden to me at all in return. That argument didn't really work for me because I'm trying to cease any reliance I have on my parents anyway, so I would be fine with them not feeling obligated to help me out.

My father got increasingly frustrated during the discussion due to my desire to quantify everything. I told him that obviously I was indebted to them because of all the time and money that they put into raising me, but he said that I wasn't understanding the nature of the obligation. The best way that he could explain it to me is that my disobedience of their mandates hurts their feelings, and I have an obligation to consider my parents feelings.

I don't want to hurt their feelings, but I also don't want to spend my life tip-toeing around my parents and their ideas of what is socially acceptable and what is not. They have threatened to go over my head and call my boyfriend's parents if I try to stay the night there again. I find this embarrassing and out of line because that is something that parents do for young children.