Page 1 of 1 [ 15 posts ] 

Roxas_XIII
Veteran
Veteran

03 Feb 2011, 5:44 pm

So in about a month I will be taking a Greyhound up to Casper, WY so I can spend some time with my lovely girlfriend and celebrate the fact that we've been dating for 1 year and are still together (even though the last 3 months have been long-distance).

The one thing I'm concerned about is intra-city transportation, since neither myself nor Suiseiten have our own vehicle. I'll need to have some way of getting from the bus depot to the hotel we will be staying at, and then a means of getting around town so that we can go shopping, dinner/movie, etc.

I looked up taxi services in Casper (which is thankfully a bigger city than Laramie, so it has things like on-call taxis) and found what appears to be the most reputable cab company in the city: www.caspercabs.com

So at least there are taxis available, and I have money reserved for using them. Only problem is, I've never used a taxi before and I'm not sure entirely how they are supposed to run. I know that this particular company charges about $5 for a call-in pick-up, then around $2.25 per mile, incremented and rounded up to the nearest 1/10th of a mile. They also charge for waiting times, around $45 an hour, and that the drivers also accept tips. They also accept Visa, Mastercard and other major credit cards as forms of payment.

Does anyone have any advice on using a taxi, though? Anything at all would be helpful.

Happy New Year from WP's resident fortune-teller! May the cards be ever in your favor.

richardbenson
Xfractor Card #351
Xfractor Card #351

03 Feb 2011, 5:55 pm

Ouch. yeah man, its the economy. and i've used taxis before because I dont drive.
Thankfully they have a bus system here that I use now

ryan93
Veteran
Veteran

03 Feb 2011, 7:07 pm

Quote:
Does anyone have any advice on using a taxi, though? Anything at all would be helpful.

Don't. You tend to get fleeced.