pretentious classical music snobs vs. musician with AS

Page 1 of 1 [ 14 posts ] 

rabidmonkey4262
Veteran
Veteran

26 May 2011, 11:54 am

I'm a big fan of classical music, but not necessarily the people that support it. I'm talking about the benefactor types. The people that donate tons of money, just so they can feel good about themselves. Along with that money comes a sense of entitlement and they think they can disparage anyone "lower" than themselves.

Just yesterday, I went to my friend's orchestra concert at Orchestra Hall here in Chicago (a fancy place). She is assistant concertmaster of the Civic Orchestra, so she was able to get me an awesome ticket in a center box. This is where all the donors have their seats. I am a classical musician, but I guess I don't really carry myself all that well, probably due to my AS. I'm also really young-looking, as most donors are older. Not only did three ticket ushers come up to me to question my ticket, but a guy sitting next to me tapped me on the shoulder and said in the most condescending voice, "these seats are only reserved for special people. Did you find your ticket on the floor?" I simply explained that my ticket was reserved under my name at will call, and I showed him the ticket with my name on the envelope.

I told my friend what happened. She said she was treated the same way. For another concert, she sat in the same section when she was a guest of the conductor and she carries herself really well, as opposed to me. Honestly, I don't even think these rich people donate this money because they actually care about the arts. They do it so they can look good and get their name listed in the program. I'm positive they spend more money on their plastic surgeries and ballet lessons for their cat. I think it's also the reason why more "regular" people seem to be repelled from going to classical music concerts. They feel like they can't fit in with the crowd and they let themselves be intimidated by these types.