maquaii
Raven
Raven

22 Sep 2011, 3:55 pm

AstroGeek
Veteran
Veteran

22 Sep 2011, 4:02 pm

It strikes me that what is most likely going on is that the distance between the point of emission and receiving. The time difference could be accounted for if the distances were off by 18 metres. For example, did they take the Earth's curvature into account?

Apera
Veteran
Veteran

22 Sep 2011, 4:56 pm

Physicists are starting to realize that light doesn't have a fixed speed anyway. Scientists have observed FTL particles before.

But they do not have me

Jono
Veteran
Veteran

22 Sep 2011, 5:56 pm

It appears like it's more likely to be a systematic error in the time measurement. They are relying on GPS for the time measurement and, as the article said, GPS's can have uncertainties of up to 10's of nanoseconds. Honestly, as a theoretical physicist myself, I think the guy in that article who is trying come up with a theory where the speed of light barrier is violated, is just wasting his time. If you want to be a productive theorist, first make sure that your observed effect is real, rather than due to experimental error, then develop your theory. This would actually require extraordinary evidence since special relativity is extremely well tested.

Jono
Veteran
Veteran

22 Sep 2011, 6:00 pm

Apera wrote:
Physicists are starting to realize that light doesn't have a fixed speed anyway. Scientists have observed FTL particles before.

Not true. There has never been a single confirmed experiment that shows light to deviate from a constant speed in a vacuum. Special relativity has been extremely well tested with not a single confirmed instance of experimental results deviating from its predictions.

Tollorin
Veteran
Veteran

22 Sep 2011, 6:17 pm

If that's true then we may be able to know the fate of the Universe using neutrino detectors.

hot_dog285
Hummingbird
Hummingbird

22 Sep 2011, 7:46 pm

Jono wrote: