Are most Aspies prescribed medications?

Page 1 of 2 [ 28 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

CheshireCat1
Yellow-bellied Woodpecker
Yellow-bellied Woodpecker

12 Oct 2011, 12:34 am

Hi. I am new to understanding Asperger Syndrome so I apologize for any silly questions that I might ask. I have always wondered, are most Aspies prescribed medicine to deal with their emotions or any meltdowns? Do most Aspies see a Psychiatrist? Or is it that most Aspies are only prescribed medicine if they show signs of needing it such as: OCD, Anger Problems, etc?

EGGREGUYOUS
Sea Gull
Sea Gull

12 Oct 2011, 3:00 am

I take 5-HTP for my Chronic Depression & Slippery Elm for my stomach, Melatonin for my insomnia, also something for my Anxiety (Forget What's It's Called)
I've been to therapists when I was younger but now I refuse to go because we don't have much money and I don't want to make it worse.
Prescribe myself deep Bass because it's the only way I can relax but bass hurts my mom's head :( I still turn up my stereo when she's gone though... *Sigh*

johnsmcjohn
Veteran
Veteran

12 Oct 2011, 3:07 am

I never take anything more than the occasional benedryl for allergies. I am very much against medication unless it's absolutely necessary.

OJani
Veteran
Veteran

12 Oct 2011, 4:49 am

I'm also against medication, or at least I'd suggest trying out alternatives before reaching for them. Alternatives include physical exercise (incl. cycling, hiking, gyms, swimming), meditation, diet (healthier, gluten-free). Temple Grandin suggests aspies/autistics should take only small doses of medication, if they need it, usually smaller than the normal dose for the same symptoms. Sometimes medication and the alternatives combined give the best result. Also, reduced stress from the environment might do wonders in some cases. Autistics are not always aware of the amount of stress they get from sensory stimulation daily.

ToughDiamond
Veteran
Veteran

12 Oct 2011, 5:11 am