College + panic attacks. How do you deal with it?

Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 

nortier
Blue Jay
Blue Jay

12 Apr 2012, 12:54 am

Hi everyone,

I was in a thread about panic attacks at work a few hours ago (http://www.wrongplanet.net/postp4548213 ... t=#4548213) and this got me thinking about my own attacks and college life.

Super short summary: I am an undergraduate in a pressuring academic environment. While I plan my time and productivity like nobody I know, I always slip into panic attack mode when there are deadlines. The attacks occurs several times during a week before a deadline and become gradually worse over time. At their height I am so dizzy I am unable to walk and see straight, in constant fear of having to vomit. I've always had attacks, but they have gotten progressively worse once I started college.

So I want to talk about it, and specifically about college and panic attacks (and I don't mean that to exclude anybody, I just hope to read things that I can truly relate to). I'd love it if you could answer the questions below and perhaps add a little comment if you feel ike it:

1. How often do you have panic attacks?
2. How are they related to your academic life (if you think they are)?
3. What happens when you have one?
4. Where do you have them?
5. Do you see patterns in them and can you tell what triggers them?
6. Have you told students, professors or academic counselors about them?
7. Does planning your time and productivity help reduce them?
8. Can you prepare for them? If so, how?
9. How do they make you feel (inadequate etc.)?
10. Do they make you think you cannot reach the height of a great career (Ph.D. etc.)?

I'm much more interested in your answers than my own, but here they are:

-- About a week out of the month (as a curve), at the worst what feels like an all-day panic attack.
-- They are usually triggered by some type of academic stress: written as well as exams, paper deadlines.