Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 

brainfizz
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

12 Aug 2012, 3:11 pm

My little girl is 2 years 8 months now, we've always had little feelings about Aspergers and I recognise behaviours in her that I have being an Aspie myself.
I'm a trained nursery nurse and I know all about positive parenting and developing a childs self esteem, my daughter is not 'difficult' or 'obtrusive' but in one sense, in just the words themselves, it's a simple way to explain certain behaviours over the years, she was a 'difficult' baby, she wouldn't even let me hold her in certain ways, she would cry all the time and had rigid routines she created out of her own very need for things to be the same even back then.
She's a beautiful and intelligent child and is delightful to many people to meet her, as well as this she is almost obsessive with things, she loves baby dolls and has to have a particular one all the time, if we've left without it she will scream and scream, she has a good level of understanding and we have always got down to her level and explained things in a way that she can understand but, like the other day, once we'd left that house and she realised she didn't have it she screamed and cried all the way, not a tantrum but down right absolute emotional PAIN, she was upset about everything after that and became more clingy and 'difficult' to care for until we got home and got baby and even after that she continued to struggle all day.
As a baby she would cry such a loud cry, other mums with baby's in a group would literally look at her in surprise and wonder why she sounded like that, I couldn't console her, there was nothing I could do and sometimes only my husband rocking her in the same spot in our lounge would stop her.