Page 1 of 3 [ 34 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

SpaceCase
Veteran
Veteran

03 Dec 2006, 12:42 pm

I was a Christian...okay,I was NEVER a Christian,I just tried to be one because my family and friends were,and it's what is expected down here.

I was unhappy,so I started studying religions.

I tried Wicca...it just didn't work out for me.(I'm not gonnah say why,because I don't want to offend anyone.I don't have a problem with it,it just wasn't what I believed in.)

I tried Atheism..it didn't seem exzactly "spiritual" enough for me.There's nothing wrong with that,either,I'm just saying.

I tried Buddhism,and it worked out GREAT for me. It had things that I already believed in,and when I studied more about it,it sounded even more logical to me.

-SpaceCase

Aspie_Chav
Veteran
Veteran

03 Dec 2006, 2:23 pm

Buddhism is evolved wisdom.

I go to a Buddhist centre in Croydon to do meditation 1 to 3 times a week

Metabird
Yellow-bellied Woodpecker

03 Dec 2006, 3:22 pm

Heh... I've had some fun (mis)adventures with religion before...

In the beginning I was raised by pseudo-fundamentalists. Preach against sin 1 day, get drunk off their asses the next. You get the idea. Never bought into it, never cared, thought this "God" person would make a good videogame character.

Somewhere along the line I got dragged into wicca/paganism by friends, bought into it for awhile... still retain some valuable life lessons from that experience (and a resulting focus on intellectualism), but ended up not buying into "do-it-yourself theism".

At about the same time I was teetering between that and buddhism. I still do SOME of the practices, but as of late I've been seeing more and more of the BS factor, and really don't call myself that by name anymore. It's like Hinduism and the caste system; the base ideas are good but somebody always adds crap to it later on to exploit people.