Page 1 of 2 [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Skylie
Hummingbird
Hummingbird

23 Jan 2013, 6:36 am

I graduated HS last May. I wasn't involved in EA or Volunteering, I never even got a Driver's Permit, and I literally have no friends. So, I have absolutely nothing to add on an application because I have no previous work experience or references. The only time I've ever worked was through a temp agency for a chicken factory (only for a day), and a plastics factory (only for four days). I haven't been able to find anything else because they only want to send me to the chicken factory and I can't stand the cold, and no one else wants to hire me (I have put in countless applications, even though I already knew I wouldn't get them due to the lack of experience). I'm not diagnosed because I can't afford to pursue it (no income), I can't apply for benefits because I'm not diagnosed, and even if I did manage to get a diagnosis, I wouldn't be able to afford to pursue the disability (time or money wise). I just feel stuck. It wouldn't be so bad if I could at least get an interview occasionally, but I haven't even been able to get that. I don't know what to do. What did you do to get your job?

b9
Veteran
Veteran

23 Jan 2013, 6:55 am

Quote:
How did you find work?

i just woke up and it was in front of my eyes.

eric76
Veteran
Veteran

23 Jan 2013, 6:55 am

For four of my last five jobs, people called me up and asked if I was interested in the job. No resume or application was required for any of those four jobs.

hanyo
Veteran
Veteran

23 Jan 2013, 6:58 am

I only had 2 jobs ever. One was a paper route. For that I just called and gave them my name and phone number. When a route was available months later they called and asked if I wanted it. The other job was a cleaning job. A friend worked there and I guess they were hard up for a new worker because my friend told them about me and they hired me without an application or interview.

JRC
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse