Page 1 of 1 [ 3 posts ] 

DukeNukem2417
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

30 Mar 2014, 3:09 pm

For the uninitiated, M.U.G.E.N is a fighting game engine where you can download characters and stages from other games (all fan-made, and all classed as fan art, so it's all legal :D) and "plug them in" to the engine. I've been playing it for a few years now....anyone else here a fan of M.U.G.E.N?

Ioini
Raven
Raven

04 Apr 2014, 5:25 pm

Yeah I do some days. It's a lot of fun!

Master Ryu P.O.T.S is my main in that "game". He's the Ryu I always imagined being if he mastered the "Assassin's Fist".

Ladywoofwoof
Veteran
Veteran

04 Apr 2014, 6:10 pm

DukeNukem2417 wrote:
For the uninitiated, M.U.G.E.N is a fighting game engine where you can download characters and stages from other games (all fan-made, and all classed as fan art, so it's all legal :D) and "plug them in" to the engine. I've been playing it for a few years now....anyone else here a fan of M.U.G.E.N?

I hadn't heard of it before today, it sounds like an interesting concept (albeit a bit poorly executed).
I gather that MUGEN can be used to make different types of games, but is more geared towards the production of fighting games.

On the subject of legality...

Quote:
A member of the "M.U.G.E.N Community" contacted me and informed me that the M.U.G.E.N community asked both SNK and Capcom for approval of using their characters in M.U.G.E.N. SNK actually gave permission for their work to be used in M.U.G.E.N specifically, while Capcom gave their generic email response saying it was ok if their work wasn't used for profit.

http://www.fightersgeneration.com/features/mugen.html / Wikipedia

I understand that many of the sprites and animations are directly ripped from other games made by SNK or Capcom.
Which was legal, since seemingly both of those companies gave permission for their copyrighted material to be used in MUGEN (as the games are not sold for profit).