EXTREME ANXIETY - Messed up studying for a test

Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 

Seeker883
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

09 Feb 2016, 9:00 pm

Hi, guys. It's me again.

I'm in my second semester at Sheridan college. I'm taking a reduced courseload, three courses per semester instead of six. I'm in the General Arts and Science program for two years as a prep course for York University, where I want to take either environmental science or environmental studies. This semester in the GAS program I'm taking a course in philosophy on Tuesdays, a course in sociology on Wednesdays, and a course in history on Fridays.

At Sheridan they rely pretty heavily on their homework site, SLATE, where deadlines, important dates, and instructions are posted. My professor in the sociology course is very anti-technology and barely uses SLATE at all. I'd spoken with my caseworker and asked her to talk to the professor to see if he could send me homework due dates and deadlines. As it turns out, he does keep the course outline on SLATE, but the file there had said "Spring 2015", so I hadn't taken notice of it. Due to issues logging onto my Sheridan email account, I only found that out today, and there's a test on the first five chapters tomorrow. I've only read three of them.

So it seems like I'm completely screwed for this test and I'm in a complete panic about it. I'm worried that I'll flunk the course and have to retake it - it's such a huge struggle for me that I really don't want to need to do that. So my anxiety is out of control.

I'm having thoughts of oanic, worthlessness and hopelessness, things like "I let myself unwind too much this past weekend and barely did any homework. I'm a f***ing idiot. I'll never pass this course. I suck. If I can't manage at Sheridan, how will I ever manage at York? I'm going to end up working at McDonald's and living in my parent's basement for the rest of my life."