Page 1 of 7 [ 98 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 7  Next

ladyelaine
Veteran
Veteran

27 Apr 2016, 4:07 pm

People love to assume that I'm mentally ret*d because I talk funny and look young for my age. This one lady thought I graduated with a special diploma. She was in shock when she found out I graduated with a regular diploma and with honors. This lady had a master's degree in special education. It seems like she should have known better. One of my brother's friends was shocked that I can take care of myself. This girl associated autism with people that can't do anything for themselves. This girl was shocked at everything I can do. It is amazing how ignorant some people are. People are always in complete shock when they finally get to know me. What assumptions have people made about you?

voxeldance
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

27 Apr 2016, 4:21 pm

ladyelaine wrote:
People love to assume that I'm mentally ret*d because I talk funny and look young for my age. This one lady thought I graduated with a special diploma. She was in shock when she found out I graduated with a regular diploma and with honors. This lady had a master's degree in special education. It seems like she should have known better. One of my brother's friends was shocked that I can take care of myself. This girl associated autism with people that can't do anything for themselves. This girl was shocked at everything I can do. It is amazing how ignorant some people are. People are always in complete shock when they finally get to know me. What assumptions have people made about you?