Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

SarahFallon
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

02 Jan 2018, 7:55 am

Hello, this is my first time posting on this forum but I was wondering if anyone had any advice or experiences that they can share with me.
I know mourning is a process that everyone experiences differently but I’m truly at a loss on what I myself can do to help.
My boyfriend, who is 21 years old and has aspergers, heartbreakingly lost his younger sister yesterday to a dehabilitating condition that she’s had since birth. And though her passing was not entirely unexpected, it still came as quite a shock.
Now I’m rather worried about him as although when he first found out and when he went in to say his goodbyes to her he did get upset, he has now returned to his normal self, laughing and making jokes like it hasn’t happen. But I know he’s not in denial and understands 100% the concept of her being gone.
Should I be concerned by the fact that he’s not mourning in the way that I personally would expect? And is there any advice anyone could give me to help him mourn?

Many thanks, SarahThank

Piobaire
Veteran
Veteran

02 Jan 2018, 8:34 am

Welcome Sarah,
The best possible help which you can offer him is your presence. Most people are too afraid of their own mortality to really help; they either withdraw emotionally (or run away physically); or they feel a compulsive need to offer advice, or distraction; to fill up all the silences with increasingly meaningless chatter. But, death is silence, and all that activity isn't really to help the other person grieve, but to assuage their own discomfort. It is a rare friend who can simply sit quietly by, bear witness to another's suffering, and offer their presence without conditions or expectations, when words are empty and advice meaningless. This presence is increasingly vital in the days, weeks, and months after the funeral, when the rest of the world returns to their busy lives and appears to forget.