Is there any good pills out there that help with PMS?

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

catpiecakebutter
Snowy Owl
Snowy Owl

24 May 2024, 11:58 pm

I'm a 40 year old autistic woman and I hate my PMS mood swings. I don't want to take birth control pills. Are there any non-prescription pills that help with the mood swings of PMS?

IsabellaLinton
Veteran
Veteran

25 May 2024, 12:05 am

Calcium and Magnesium

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC5313351/

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3208934/

catpiecakebutter
Snowy Owl
Snowy Owl

25 May 2024, 1:05 pm

Just to clarify, I would like pills that would help me with hormonal mood swings. Not cramps. Thank you!

IsabellaLinton
Veteran
Veteran

25 May 2024, 1:27 pm

^

Calcium:

Teabutterfly2047
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

23 Jul 2024, 11:21 am

OK, this is from personal experience

I'm not a doctor and I will NOT recommend any specific pill.

However I'd like to share this personal experience, so hear me out.

I've been blessed with a very regular period, no cramps. Then at 18 I was prescribed a contraceptive pill that was too heavily dose
(mistake made by the doctor, who i not take into account my age, my hypersensitifity and the fact that more moern pills, with lighter hormonal doses were available). When I stopped taking the pill a decade later and switched to condoms (following the advice of a good
gynecologist) I started having a very painful/irregular period. I suspect the heavily dosed pill messed up my perfectly normal/natural period.