Was I 2E? Or was I given a false "gifted" label in school?

Page 1 of 4 [ 53 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

J.J.
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

01 Aug 2024, 2:37 am

Mod. edit: The following was added by request of the OP:

Please don't give me unsolicited advice if you do reply. I know that I need to seek help for my obsessions, but I'm not looking for more replies.
Thanks.

Please read entire post before replying (everyone on reddit is either highly subjective in their responses, or they misunderstand the question I ask, so i'm going to ditch reddit and try a new forum)

My parents taught me how to read and do basic math, using very visual-based methods that were used to teach brain damaged children how to read/do math, when i was 18 months old. Despite having an average FSIQ overall, I did research and realized it wasn't hyperlexia, as i wasn't self-taught and also I never got to reading at an adult level as i was only a few grades ahead until around 7th grade when i was completely average reading level. However my working memory index is far above everything else in my cognitive profile, so I'm still wondering if I would be considered 2E, or if i was falsely labelled "gifted" as a child (causing me to get labelled as not trying in areas i struggled). Here's a few arguments for/against giftedness, I honestly just need an unbiased response to help me figure things out. Seriously, because judging from posts in the past people on reddit would just say "you're gifted" with no reasoning, im not looking for validation about my intelligence as im fully aware that i have strengths just like everyone else, im looking to figure my past/present situation out and figure out what didnt line up, and why people are refusing to believe/roll their eyes about the thought of me needing support in some areas as an adult even after diagnosis, including my family (out of whom, my entire dads side "knew" I was autistic long before diagnosis, even as a toddler, but thinks im ju