Certain sounds are making me feel more irritable - Why?

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

milly
Hummingbird
Hummingbird

08 Sep 2024, 10:35 am

Certain sounds are making me extremely irritable lately. I'm trying to understand why this is happening to me. Normally I feel so irritable when I hear someone sip tea, I literally cannot be in the same room. But lately its happening with my mum hoovering the floors. It just ruins my day. :(

I only recently got diagnosed with autism (I was 38 at the time), so I am trying to understand myself better and want to know if this is part of being autistic.

lostonearth35
Veteran
Veteran

08 Sep 2024, 11:31 am

I'm no doctor, but it could be misophonia.

funeralxempire
Veteran
Veteran

08 Sep 2024, 3:33 pm

I agree with lostonearth that what you're experiencing is described as misophonia.

It sounds like you're describing it becoming worse recently. Has your threshold for handling irritation/annoyance/frustration in general changed recently, or is it just when bad sounds are involved?

"Many of us like to ask ourselves, What would I do if I was alive during slavery? Or the Jim Crow South? Or apartheid? What would I do if my country was committing genocide?' The answer is, you're doing it. Right now." —Former U.S. Airman (Air Force) Aaron Bushnell

SendInTheClowns
Yellow-bellied Woodpecker
Yellow-bellied Woodpecker

08 Sep 2024, 10:44 pm

I have read that the perception of perfect pitch is more common in people on the spectrum, though even among us I wonder how common or rare it is. I have trouble with discordant sound, but I don't have perfect pitch perception. I was greatly suprised to learn I had an unusually high level of detecting very high pitch sound perception beyond normal - unfortunately. However my hearing range for low pitch aligns with normal findings.

If I ever become a dictator the first thing I'll ban will be leaf blowers....

bee33
Veteran
Veteran

10 Sep 2024, 3:04 am

SendInTheClowns wrote: