I feel wronged by a psych tester who didn't see my AS

Page 1 of 7 [ 100 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 7  Next

anathemaviolet
Yellow-bellied Woodpecker
Yellow-bellied Woodpecker

11 Mar 2008, 5:02 am

Hi, I'm a self-diagnosed Aspie as of 3 years ago, and I'm currently a therapist intern working toward having my own private practice. I'm warning you that this is a long post but, hopefully, an interesting one.

I recently got a report back from the psychologist who performed several tests on me in the past few weeks, since I wanted to see whether I could get the Asperger diagnosis for professional purposes. (I don't need it for identity or for anyone to tell me I have it in order for me to know I do. I'm a secure, perceptive, and confident person.)

She got me almost completely wrong, so I sent her some clarifications of the facts she blatantly screwed up and also her extrapolations based on those falsehoods. Facts she got wrong include her thinking my mother was bulimic (nope, anorexic), that I didn't receive enough caring as a child, that I binged before purging when I was eating disordered 6 years ago - no, I only used to purge, and that I'm currently depressed, "chronically distressed," lonely, insecure, empty, and uncertain about my identity, sexual orientation, and values (I'm settled in all areas). Wow, how did she totally mishear what I told her? I'm happy and fulfilled and have a good relationship with both parents (versus just my mother) and my boyfriend, despite a few small troubles and growing pains. She also thought I tattooed my body "in order to get back at her father." Haha. I did it IN SPITE of his preferences to the contrary, not BECAUSE OF them. That's an important distinction. I just follow my personal values and preferences, no matter what the consequence. In fact, the first time I really "rebelled" per se was buying a car he didn't want me to get. And, even then, it was a healthy act of individuation.