It's okay... 16%  16%  [ 7 ]
I prefer other types of math :? 16%  16%  [ 7 ]
I'm neutral on it 0%  0%  [ 0 ]
Total votes : 45

ebec11
Veteran
Veteran

18 May 2008, 2:23 pm

I just love doing Algebra equations :D I'm not really good at them or anything, but I just feel peaceful when doing them (unlike evil word problems)

Orwell
Veteran
Veteran

18 May 2008, 2:37 pm

Algebra's cool, but I like discrete mathematics better. I find symbolic logic soothing...

tailfins1959
Deinonychus
Deinonychus

18 May 2008, 2:42 pm

ebec11 wrote:
I just love doing Algebra equations :D I'm not really good at them or anything, but I just feel peaceful when doing them (unlike evil word problems)

It's ok, but I like matrices and simultaneous equations better. Becoming expert in matrix operations is good training for multidimensional arrays useful in programming and statistics. If you don't have dreams about b=(X'X)-1(X'Y), you will struggle with statistics.

Here is more detail if you're interested:

http://www.gseis.ucla.edu/courses/ed231a1/notes/mr3.html

I've still got a pair
Yeah honey, I'm still a guy

Willard
Veteran
Veteran

18 May 2008, 3:01 pm

I'm forever grateful that there are people like you, who do enjoy higher mathematics, because I'm fascinated by the scientific discoveries and the technologies it has made possible. As for myself, I'd rather give a granny a foot massage than even look at a calculation that required more than basic multiplication. Physics theory is intriguing, but the math is gibberish to me.

ebec11
Veteran
Veteran

18 May 2008, 3:13 pm

tailfins1959 wrote:
ebec11 wrote:

It's ok, but I like matrices and simultaneous equations better. Becoming expert in matrix operations is good training for multidimensional arrays useful in programming and statistics. If you don't have dreams about b=(X'X)-1(X'Y), you will struggle with statistics.

I'm not sure what that means....I'm only in grade ten, so I guess I don't need to know it just yet :D

tailfins1959